April 17, 2010

  • A few weeks ago, we had an opportunity to leave our landlocked state and have a quick visit with the ocean.  Really, I had a conference, but it was on the coast.  It also took place at the end of the week and coincided with some half days at Nature Boy’s school.  So, we all went and made it a mini vacation.

    I was in the conference pretty much for the whole time, but the boys got out and had some fun.  They found a gaming store that they went to at least two times.  Nature Boy picked up some new dice and they found a new couple of games to buy…..If you think we have a lot of birds here, you should see how many games we have!!! <shakes head>

    I’ve played neither game yet, but this is what they picked up:

    Hive

    And Mystery of the Abbey

    The mystery game is very much like clue….We ought to sit down and play it soon! We’ve been so busy lately, we haven’t had much time to play games.  The boys have however played Hive several times.  It is portable and quick, good for toting places.

    But the best part of our trip was that I got to see the ocean.  I love the ocean.  I love the sound and feel of the rhythm of the waves as they break on the beach.  I could easily be lulled into a deep relaxed state by the waves. 

    We only spent like a half hour at the beach.  The timing wasn’t great, it was basically just past the peak of high tide, so really there wasn’t even much beach to speak of.  We did walk along the rocky top of the beach.  it was also windy and cold….March, at the ocean, is not that hospitable.  Of course, Nature Boy got wet pretty much first thing, so it didn’t take long for him to be freezing.  But I got to see and smell the ocean and feel the waves as they pounded the ground….It was very nice!

    ocean

    Nature Boy staring at the waves.

    ocean2

    Maybe this summer, we’ll make a trip to the beach when we can sit and really enjoy it!

Comments (2)

  • Woot! Hive is a dollar ninety-nine app for my Hellbox(I-touch) I’m gonna have to get me an Itunes card while were out. Just spent the last of my cash there on the new Natalie Merchant Album.

    The ocean looks as wonderful as it sounds! And you have all those wonderful rocks and pebbles on your beach! Beautiful!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *