Month: February 2010

  • Look! Two days in a row! 

    I decided to get those pictures of the new cream finch up for you to share.  He is just wonderful.

    creamfinch3

     

    creamfinch2

     

    creamfinch

    And since I am showing finch pictures....

    Here are the babies a few weeks back.  At first they are all gray with black beaks.

    finches

    And then their colors come in slowly.  Right now, they have much more of their adult coloring and their beaks are only black on the very tips.  They have slowly changed color from proximal to distal.

    And here is a cool picture I got of one just about to land.

    finches2

    I had another one of these kinds of pictures I posted before.

    finch

    It is just neat to see their wings spread open!!!!

    Oh, and one more thing about the cream finch, he has a distinct voice.  All the other finches and babies sing the same songs in the same key.  The cream finch seems to be singing the same song, but it is different, his voice is.....welll...Okay, yarn analogy:  The Other Finches voices are chunky yarn and the cream finch is more like a DK.  I really enjoy hearing his voice.

    Can you tell? I totally have finch fever!!!!

  • Yes, I am alive.  And yes we are surviving the big ol' snowstorm.  I love a good storm, so I am quite happy.

    It has practically been a whole month since I blogged. <ack!>  I have a lot to catch up on and will try to do so over the next several days.

    Our chickens are doing well and we are now getting 5 eggs a day! 

    We had someone knock on our door last weekend and say, "I think your chickens got out." And sure enough, two of our hens were in the park driveway pecking at the gravel.  For those of you locals, you know that the park driveway is the last place we want our chickens.  (And for you non-locals:  The park has many, many dog visitors who are not kept on leash or even under voice control.  In the past, we have lost chickens to dogs from the park catching our chickens on our lawn and ravaging them.)  So, the next morning, we went out and the hens got a flight feather trim.  Now, they are fairly well grounded and should stay in the yard until their next moult.

    wintercoop2

    wintercoop

    Speaking of birds and eggs.....The finch babies are pretty much all grown up.  I kept one female and the other two, a male and female, are going to a friend.  And, believe it or not, the momma finch is already on a new clutch of eggs!!!!  What will I do with so many finches?!  Don't worry, I have plans for them. 

    And I must confess (and I must get pictures off the camera to share) I bought a new finch a few weeks ago.  I went to Petsmart, just to buy some millet and feed, and I saw the most beautiful finch ever!!!!!  It was a male and I had to have him.  He is cream colored....Oh, so pretty!!!!  Now, he is a new member of our flock.  The female baby finch I kept is to be his gal.  They already have taken to each other.  It is very sweet.

    Okay, speaking of birds and eggs, I am going to run out and check for any more chicken eggs before the evening news (and more importantly, weather!) comes on.

Recent Posts

Categories