October 25, 2009

  • I have been busy knitting lately.  I have been working on my old favorite, the five hour baby sweater. I just love the pattern.  I love the way it comes off my needles and builds into a sweater. I love that it is knit contiguously, no breaks in the yarn at all.  I love the garter yoke.  I love it all!

    The first one I made is in a lovely robin's egg blue.

    oct5hbs1

    This also was a nice yarn...A new acrylic I hadn't tried yet called Red Heart Soft.  It is silky and soft, a pleasure to knit with.

    Sweater #2 is done in Wool-Ease. Another nice yarn to knit with.  Though both are worsted weight, the Wool-Ease is a bit finer and the second sweater knit up a bit smaller. (I was using the same needles.)

    oct5hbs2 

    And now I have #3 on the needles.  It is with a colorful variegated Caron yarn.  It looks pretty, but after the nice feel of these former two sweaters, it feels very yucky.  It is that more crunchy kind of acrylic yarn....Not my favorite.

    oct5hbs3

    Five hour baby sweater #4 is already planned as well.  For that one, I got some bulkier yarn and I am going to size up my needles in hopes of making a toddler sweater for that sweet baby in the pom pom hat in the blog below.  I loved the color of this Jiffy yarn.  And I have knit with Jiffy before, it has a nice, soft, hairy texture.  I am looking forward to knitting with it.

    oct5hbs4

    I will have to go button shopping soon.  As a matter of fact, I have a finished 5hbs in pink that has been set aside for like a year now (ahem) just because I didn't have buttons for it.....I guess I should remedy that!

     

Comments (6)

  • i love button shopping. and i like making those 5 hour baby sweaters too.

  • Button shopping is almost as fun as making the sweaters! I like the colors in #3. I just got some new to me Red Heart called Primary that kinda looks like that.

  • @spinner_mom - Hmmm...I just checked mine and it is actually a Caron yarn.  Is the Red Heart soft? I don't like the texture of this Caron very much.

  • The Primary is in the Red Heart Super Saver so it's pretty much like any of their Ack! They really need to extend that Soft line! We should work for yarn companies and set them all straight!

  • There are some babies out there who are going to be very beautifully dressed! I really like that one in Robin's Egg Blue!

  • It's nice to hear from you! I know what you mean about scratchy yarn. I'm glad you found some you like. The wool-ease cuff to cuff that muffin had was super soft. Knitpicks swish is still my fave though. I love the color of that blue sweater!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories